Battlestar Galactica Season 3

Γ Good flick within the genre.  Solid story, good characters, if you like this genre, watch it.

Season Three of Battlestar Galactica continues the excellent script writing, acting, direction and overall production that we have come to expect from the ‘Reimagined’ Battlestar Galactica series. The characters are thrown into ever worsening scenarios, as the difference between Human and Cylon is more fully explored. While I cannot say that I enjoyed this season as much as the first two, it still maintained itself as one of the best drama series (regardless of genre). My one complaint was that it created so significant a set of divides between the characters that one doubts if they could possibly come to live, not to mention work together afterwards.  Even so, season three was the lead up to the final series and as such one could expect tension to mount.  If Season Four had lived up to its promises, BSG would have gone down as one the best conceived pieces of media ever.  Sadly, it didn’t… but that is another story.

About Thomas Evans

I'm a writer of mysteries, espionage, and speculative fiction. In my previous incarnation I was an archaeologist specializing in gender and identity in Iron and Bronze Age Europe. Mostly, however, I was known for my works with the use of geomatics, multiscalular spatial analysis and landscape theory within archaeology.
This entry was posted in Good Characters, MilFic, Ripping Yarn, Science Fiction, Television and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Battlestar Galactica Season 3

  1. Charlie says:

    Someday, I’ll go back and finish this series. I loved the first season, but after that it became so painful to watch I just couldn’t do it. Normally, I like dark, but I need some inkling of hope for the characters and this series didn’t offer much of that. Despite that, it was so well crafted I’m still drawn to it. Weird.

    • Thomas Evans says:

      Gee… I have to remember that I have this blog site! I keep forgetting to look for comments.

      Honestly, I’m torn as to whether I’d recommend going back to it. It was soooo good, but as you’ll see in my next review (spoiler alert!), the third season was even more painful than the second, and the last season just sucked. It wasn’t painful because of what the characters went through. It was painful because it was aweful. I honestly think the Producers were stoned the whole time… and in a college freshman kind of a way…

      “Duuuude, you know, like, I’m sure I’ve seen that funky pattern in the stars before… and like, I think like, you know, like maybe I’m a skin job… but not like a normal skin job… like a totally different skin job… ya know?”

  2. mercadee says:

    William Adama, a veteran of the First Cylon War, is the commanding officer of the battlestar Galactica, and has the longest tenure as the highest-ranking officer in the Colonial Fleet after the Fall of the Twelve Colonies.

  3. While the design of the battlestar Galactica was probably the most familiar element derived from the Original Series, many elements of the new show were altered. The commander, William Adama , is a battle-hardened, secularly-minded commander on the eve of retirement for himself and his combat-decorated old battlestar. The names of Original Series characters are now the pilot call signs for his son, Lee “Apollo” Adama and the crack pilot, Kara “Starbuck” Thrace . Starbuck’s change into a female character initially became a torrid issue to Original Series fans who feared this and other changes would render an inferior series.

Leave a Reply

